WEEK 10: Wikipedia entry

Urban chickens

I updated the Urban Chickens entry within Wikipedia. This assignment sounded simple enough at first. However, updating the wiki entry brought up a lot of lessons learned in class so far.

Identify yourself. We learned this last week with our blog assignments. Readers expect a degree of bias with blogs. But identifying yourself, your beliefs and your affiliations increases your credibility. Wiki police threatened to delete my entry if I didn’t sign my edits, which I didn’t know how to do at first. The links in the wiki warning I got were super helpful. FYI, you sign your name by using ~~~~.

Be fair and present the facts. I got dinged by the wiki police for appearing to present a particular POV. So I edited my tone and language and deleted soft words like “relatively” and “often”. I also deleted an external link to the Urban Chickens Network, because the link made it appear I was promoting this external site. I also added “Urban chickens or backyard chickens” to diversify the language used, so as not to promote the urban chickens site.

The entry was lean with not more than 5 sections and 10 lines of text to start. So another edit I made to this entry was the addition of the Concerns section. I’d like to go back and add a Benefits section to balance Concerns. I wonder if that will escape the wiki police.

Update: So I logged into wiki @ 1611 hrs Sunday afternoon to find my new section had been deleted. Crowdsourcing, bah! I’ve discovered the history section and can recover my content. Off to revise…

About susanrene

sister, friend, lover, learner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

