Navy Seal

I was the 71st African-American to ever graduate from Navy Seal training.
More than 11,000 soldiers have graduated to date.

I was the only African-American out of my Seal class of 161.
You had to swim 12:30 to pass the swim test. I passed by one second with 12:29.
I knew I sucked.

So after the pool was closed every night, I climbed the 15-foot fence to get back inside. To make a long story short, by the time we got Seal training, I was the best swimmer in the class.

Navy Seal training is 21 weeks.
The first 4 weeks are the hardest. And then you have “hell week” which starts at 9 p.m. on Sunday and ends sometime Friday afternoon.

I went into hell week with a hernia I got from being a power lifter. So I was always pushing my gut back in. During hell week, my hernia ruptured, I had to go to the hospital and do hell week all over again.

My second hell week, I got injured again. It took me three times to finish hell week.
I finally graduated from Navy Seal training.
Then 9/11 happened.

About susanrene

sister, friend, lover, learner
This entry was posted in 711 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

