Heart surgery setback

In May 2009, I had my first heart surgery. Everything I just told you about, I did with a hole the size of a poker chip in my heart.

I was training for a cross country, 11-day, 3,000 mile bike race. The training got harder and harder. I went to the doctor for some tests. My blood looked fine. The doctor, who knew I was in the Navy, said, “Thank God you’re not a Navy Seal. With all of that jumping and diving, you’d be dead.”

I had my second heart surgery 6 weeks ago. The doctors didn’t get everything patched up the first time. My resting heart rate is 32 BPM. Because of the hole, my heart had to be ultra-efficient. When the other half of my heart was repaired, my heart rate got even slower.

About susanrene

sister, runner, friend, lover, learner
This entry was posted in 711 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

