Ecolab

After getting cut from the Colts, I went back home and got a job at Ecolab.
One of my clients was Steak & Shake, which always gave me a free shake.
On the way home from work, I’d get a box of doughnuts. Before I knew it, I was up to 291 lbs.

One day at home, I turned on Discovery Channel and saw a show about the Navy Seals. So I went to the Navy recruiter’s office, weighing all of 291 lbs., and said, “I want to be a Navy Seal.” All the recruiters laughed at me. They did a BMI check–>I was 105 lbs. overweight at 24 years and 4 months of age. The cutoff age for me to join the Navy was 24 years and 6 months. So I basically had two months to lose 105 lbs.

I went home depressed. Quit my Ecolab job. Lived out of the Ecolab truck, until the company took it back. Lived with a friend and worked out every day. I wouldn’t recommend what I did. I basically ate fruit, chicken and a potato every day..like 1,000 calories.

I lost 105 lbs. in 59 days.

I returned to that Navy recruiter office. At the time, there was a focus on diversity, so they see this young, trim, black male walking into the office, and they all perk up.

“Do you remember me?” I asked. “Yeah, don’t ever tell me I can’t do something.”

About susanrene

sister, friend, lover, learner
This entry was posted in 711 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

