David Goggins Q&A

How old am I?
I’m 35 years old. I’ve been in the military for 16 years. You can find more information about me at davidgoggins.com.

When is my next race?
My problems with sickle cell during training have made my recovery slow.
The next race I hope to do is the Race Across America in June.

What is the foundation you mentioned?
The Foundation web site is specialops.org

What’s your daily routine?
My daily routine is:
– wake at 3:00 – 4:00 a.m.
– run 10-15 miles
– bike 25 miles to work
– run during lunch
– after work, bike home
I bike 8,000 – 10,000 miles a week.

What advice would I give to students?
I’m now an E7 in the Navy and in the process of becoming an officer. Being an officer offers a better lifestyle, which requires going to college. I have a daughter, who’s 9, from my previous marriage. Getting my education will allow me to provide a better life for my family.

Have you ever met any of the kids you’ve sent to college?
I’ve had dinner only once with one of the kids we’ve sent to college.
I didn’t like it. I don’t need people to know me. That’s not why I do this.

What advice do you have for people thinking about running marathons?
My advice for people who want to do marathons–don’t do what I did.
Be conservative. Add 10% to your mileage each week to ensure you don’t get injured.

My sneakers? Brooks Addiction is all I wear. I’m a big guy. I ran Badwater at 194 lbs. with guys who were 121 lbs. That’s an extra 50,000 lbs. of pressure over the course of the race for me.

When will you retire?
Not soon. In another 4 years in the Navy, I’ll get a pension. I hope to be in the Navy for another 16 years.

Have I thought about publishing a book?
Probably not until I retire from the military, for secrecy reasons. There’s a lot I can’t talk about until I’m out of the military.

What’s my clearance level?
I have top clearance, which means I can sit with the President and talk about whatever we want.

How much sleep do I get?
When I was training, I got 4 hours of sleep a night. Because I work a full-time job, I trained outside of work. So I got 4 hours a night for about two years until I had the heart surgeries.

What’s my VO2 max?
It was 54 before surgery and 74 after surgery.

About susanrene

sister, runner, friend, lover, learner
This entry was posted in 711 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

